Dual Battery connection

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual Battery connection

Hello, I am new at all this and just learning. Hope I explain in clarity.

1989 Bayliner 24 ft.

I have a switch to isolate battery #1 and #2 and an off switch.

When battery #1 position. The stereo is still working. But not enough crank power to start the engine.
    When battery #2 position. The engine starts.

I figured battery one was low. Took it out to connect to a proper charger. But when tested it says the battery is at 100%

Also, when I removed battery #1, battery #2 does not work anymore. I believe I reconnected the ground?

I am assuming I have not wired both batteries properly?

Should I make battery #1 house battery and everything come off that? Battery number #2 the start battery and only have the motor power come to that?

Looking for any guidance for a newbie to boats and electrical.

Thanks

Welcome Fred and I'll start by saying I am not an electrician but a newbie similar to yourself but on my boat each engine has a battery to start it and are isolated from the rest. The house has 2 batteries that run everything else. The main battery control panel has a on/off switch for the engines, the genset, accessory (House)and there is one for crossover which I believe puts all batteries to the engines to start them in case the engine start battery fails. At least that is how I have interpreted it. https://1drv.ms/u/s!AoWYMzoV5zKHuQ7RleUESCbcpRkB

Comment

thanks, yes starting to figure that part out. I am starting to think that one of my batteries just might not be holding a charge that well. Just not enough cranking power when used for anything else.

Comment