Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings from the Gulf coast of Florida.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from the Gulf coast of Florida.

I'm working on escaping the terrestrial lifestyle to become a liveaboard. I served in the Navy back in the Reagan era on a Trident submarine out of Bangor Washington. But I've been off and on on boats since I was young.

I work as a kayak nature guide for an Eco tour company in Fort Myers Florida, though I'm also a writer and artist. For a long time I've been looking into building a houseboat.

The original plan was a pontoon boat, but fortunes sometimes shift and I wound up getting an older boat that was well kept and maintained by only one owner. The hull and transom are in excellent shape.

So the boat is a 1984 Proline Walkabout Cuddy. A 23' boat without a motor (which is perfect for me since I am putting in a unique propulsion and power system). I'm converting this boat into a 24'+ houseboat.

It's been a lot of work so far but I'm enjoying it. I have a long way to go before the vessel is ready for its final destination in the water. This boat (once completed) will be the world's first electromagnetic powered and propelled houseboat.

It's clean, quiet, efficient, and produces endless free electricity. There are no props to tear up grass flats or harm manatees or dolphins, and it's super inexpensive to operate and maintain. I'm setting up a small back up wind and solar harvesting system for when the primary system is being serviced or the generator lubricated.

There is so much to do yet. But the build is progressing steadily. I removed the 50 gallon gas tank and will be replacing it with a plastic water tank, which is one of many projects I am working on. Fabrication will be fun. Or just hot... LOL.

I've been learning a great deal by talking with folks who are liveaboards or reading blogs, pages, posts, and forums by or for these same people.